two dependable pleasures

Author’s Dedication,

This poem is dedicated to my good friend K.C. (a.k.a. L.N.). Who knows how we met? I don’t know how I’d have survived these past couple of years without you. You may have seen this poem before; I didn’t write it then specifically for you (or anybody, really), but it’s for you now.

Adoringly (yes, adoringly),

Charm

*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_*_

let us generate some grammar.
bring your finest writing instruments,
your exquisite font.
do not be delicate with my pages:
paper is not flesh; it
has no fears,
offers no apologies,
and cannot take revenge.
show me all your best phrases,
your special punctuations,
the ones you have kept hidden
in that locked box of a heart of yours.
then i will draw my own reliquary
and open it before your eyes.

Leave a Reply

