Why I Did It, A Terrorist Manifesto (part 13)

[This is a fiction I co-authored with Louise Norlie. I will be publishing the story in serial installments, every Monday for the next little while. Stay tuned or look back.]

To make it difficult for the authorities to track me down or anticipate my attacks, I used a completely random system to determine the timing. I would roll dice: one dice to determine in how many months, another to determine the weeks, and a last to determine days – three six-sided dice. Needless to say, I could not even predict when I would strike next: the dice told me when, but I decided where, and whoever happened to be there was how my victims were ultimately chosen. Much of it was always out of my control.

I did not choose my victims, as such.

I did not select any target based on who they are: it does not matter what religion, which political ideology, sexual orientation, race or ethnicity, young or old, male or female.

You might say victims of my crimes were simply in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Even if someone I cared about were killed, it would simply mean one less person to care about – that is all.

In this sense I was truly democratic, totally despotic: My hatred was indiscriminate.

Leave a Reply

